The Board of Directors

The following were elected to serve as members of the board of directors of Develop Tullow Association CLG for the coming year at the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 1st September 2020:

Eddie Corcoran,
Mary Walsh,
Kathy Walsh,
Laz Murphy and
Margaret Kirwan, Company Secretary

Executive Committee

The following were elected to serve on the Executive Committee for the coming year:

Chairperson – Eddie Corcoran

Vice Chairperson – Kathy Walsh

Treasurer – William Roche

Assistant Treasurer – Loretta Bentick

Hon. Secretary – Margaret Kirwan

Asst. Secretary – Helen Whelan

PROs – William Roche and William Paton

Members – Elaine Morris, Martin Nolan, Marie Coen, Peg Fleming, Denis Ryan, Pat Kirwan, Laz Murphy, Mary Doyle and Gemma Allner Ellis

D.T.A Development Plan 2022


Develop Tullow Association has made a submission to Carlow County Development Plan 2022-2028.

The submission made comments on a number of issues relating to Tullow, namely:
– Outer Relief Road
– Tullow By-Pass
– Tullow Girls School
– Primary Health Care Centre
– St. Patrick’s Cemetery
– Industry 
– Housing
– Provision of Serviced Sites – Opening up River Slaney
– Playgrounds 
– Car Parking
– Public Toilets
– M9 Motorway
– The Fire Service
– Ambulance Service

You can make your own submission at:
County Council’s Online Consultation Portal

Closing date – Thursday 20th August 2020.


DTA Tullow Tidy Towns is organising a W.E.E.E. electrical goods collection at Tullow Civic Re-cycling Centre at Tullowbeg on Saturday 8th August from 9.30 a.m. to 11.30 a.m. sharp. We will accept all small goods that are either battery or electrical (has a plug) operated e.g. TVs, computers, games consoles, kettles, toasters, video recorders, slow cookers, microwaves, hair dryers, deep fat fryers (less the fat), radios etc. These goods will be taken directly to Powerstown Re-cycling Centre for safe disposal. Note – dishwashers, fridges, washing machines or any large items will not be accepted! We reserve the right to refuse any goods we deem unsuitable. Please leave all the small electrical goods directly into the trailer provided. If you leave goods at the centre after the trailer has left, you will be fined for dumping.   


TULLOW-based solicitor Mary Morrissey has this week been appointed as a judge of the circuit court.

The Co Carlow native was nominated for the prestigious post by the coalition government with the announcement made following last Wednesday’s cabinet meeting. As part of the requirements, the final decision on her appointment now rests with President Michael D Higgins, but this is seen as a formality, with Ms Morrissey expected to begin her important new role shortly.

This vacancy within the circuit court arose following the death of Judge John Hannan last February. Ms Morrissey’s government nomination for the role of a circuit court judge comes following her recommendation by the Judicial Appointments Advisory Board (JAAB), which is chaired by the Chief Justice Frank Clarke.

The government now takes the necessary steps to formally advise President Higgins of Ms Morrissey’s nomination in accordance with constitutional practice.

Daughter of Donal and Breda Morrissey, Ms Morrissey was educated at NUI Galway and the Law Society of Ireland. She qualified as a solicitor in 1999 and operates Morrissey & Co Solicitors at Lismard House, Bridge Street, Tullow.


A 100% waiver of commercial rates applies for a 6-month period from 27 March 2020 to 27 September 2020 to all ratepayers except a small number of categories.

The waiver will be applied as a credit in lieu of rates for the 6-month period covered in 2020. These excluded categories are mainly utilities, banks, large supermarkets and corporates. The full waiver applies to over 100,000 ratepayers nationwide.

An application to Carlow County Council is not required. Carlow County Council will automatically apply a 100% credit in lieu of commercial rates, for a six-month period, to classes and categories of occupied rateable property where the occupying business is not in an excluded category identified below.

In the event that you qualify for a six-month credit in lieu of rates and have already paid your rates bill for 2020, a refund or credit will be arranged by Carlow County Council. You should contact the rates department by email at or by phone at 059 9172487 to make arrangements.

The potential for the waiver to extend beyond end September will be kept under review and any future extensions can be considered when there is greater certainty regarding the continuing impact of the pandemic on businesses and the reopening of society.

The Commercial Rates waiver is welcomed by the Board of Directors of Develop Tullow Association CLG.

DTA Tullow Tidy Towns Survey 2020

Tullow Tidy Towns Committee would really like to hear your opinion about our Tidy Towns work.

Can you spare a few minutes to complete a 21 question survey where we ask questions about our work, Tullow Town Park, the Castledermot Road Park etc. We would really appreciate hearing from you.

All replies will be treated in the strictest confidentiality and we also offer you the opportunity to volunteer to join us in our Tidy Towns work. 

Thank you!

Business Re-Start Grant

DTA Needs Your Support